24 Hour “Macroscopes: Interactive Data Visualizations” Event

Let's explore data!

View event schedule    Join event virtually via Zoom

About

Over the course of 24 hours, scholars and practitioners from around the globe will present and discuss their work in a fun and accessible style. There will be presentations, panels, and a musical intervention. We will feature behind-the-scenes videos, demonstrate valuable tools and methodologies, and have fun exploring interactive data visualizations.

We hope the event will help kickoff the holiday season, create ever more excitement for the power and data and visualizations, share the pleasures of scientific discovery, and give good energy to all on this planet who are affected by the ongoing pandemic and raging wars.

Saturday, Dec 9th 2023
Main times are in EST (GMT-5)

...

12PM

5PM in London (GMT), 2AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Welcome by Organizers

With Katy Börner, Lisel Record, and Todd N. Theriault (Indiana University)

Click here to learn more about Macroscopes and the Places & Spaces: Mapping Science exhibit

Watch Presentation
...

1PM

6PM in London (GMT), 3AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Panel: Macroscopes in Public Places

Moderator: Lisel Record (Indiana University)

Panelists:

  • Stephen Uzzo (National Museum of Mathematics)
  • Joe Heimlich (COSI)
  • Kylie Peppler (UCI)

Watch Presentation
...

2PM

7PM in London (GMT), 4AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Forecasting and Visualizing Desirable Futures

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presenter: Katy Börner (Indiana University), author of Atlas of Forecasts

Watch Presentation
...

3PM

8PM in London (GMT), 5AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Panel: History and Future of Macroscopes

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Co-Curator, Places & Spaces, Indiana University)

Panelists:

  • Bonnie Jean DeVarco (Co-Founder of Studio DeVarco)
  • Asako Okamura (National Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Chaomei Chen (Drexel University College of Computing and Informatics)

Watch Presentation
...

4PM

9PM in London (GMT), 6AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Macroscopes in Action

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presenter: Benjamin Wiederkehr (Interactive Things)

5PM

10PM in London (GMT), 7AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XI. Iteration: Macroscopes for Interacting with Science

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Katy Börner (AcademyScope)
  • Kalev H. Leetaru (GDELT)

Watch Presentation

Links:

6PM

11PM in London (GMT), 8AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XII. Macroscopes for Making Sense of Science

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Daniele Quercia (Nokia Bell Labs)
  • Katy Börner (HathiTrust Digital Library)
Watch Presentation

Link: SmellyMaps

7PM

12AM in London (GMT), 9AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XIII. Macroscopes for Playing with Scale

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Macrosope Demo Lightning Round: Smelly Maps, Megaregions of the US, Opportunity Atlas, and Virus Explorer
  • Mauro Martino Demos Charting Culture
  • Kalev Leetaru Demos Mapping Global News
  • Making Academy Scope
  • Elijah Meeks on Orbis
  • CONDOR: Tool Demo with Peter Gloor

Link: Megaregions of the US Demo

...

8PM

1AM in London (GMT), 10AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Data Visualizations in Virtual Reality

Moderator: Andreas Bueckle (Indiana University)

With Mudrika Alla & Shreyas Sawant (Indiana University)

Watch Presentation

9PM

2AM in London (GMT), 11AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XIV. Macroscopes for Ensuring our Well-being

Moderator: Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • See David Chavalarias (Complex Systems Institute of Paris Ile-de-France) interview at 10AM
  • Humanexus 2013 Version
  • Katy Börner on Maps and Macroscopes
  • Andreas Bueckle on Living and Learning in the Metaverse
  • Visit the Gallery: A Guided Tour of Places & Spaces
  • CNS Introduction Video

10PM

3AM in London (GMT), 12PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XV. Macroscopes for Tracking the Flow of Resources

Moderator: Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Abin Abraham (Booz Allen Hamilton)
  • Will [Jiahao] Su (Datadog)

Link: Refugee Flow

Sunday, Dec 10th 2023

...

12AM

5AM in London (GMT), 2PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Improvisation, Creativity, and Innovation Fireside Chat

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Monika Herzig (Accomplished Jazz Musician & Professor of Artistic Research and Dean of Music Education at the Jam Music Lab University, Vienna)
  • Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Watch Presentation

Links:

...

1AM

6AM in London (GMT), 3PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Macroscopes—Behind the Scenes

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Mauro Martino Demos Charting Culture
  • Elijah Meeks on Orbis
  • Kalev Leetaru Demos Mapping Global News
  • Nikita Rokotyan on An Alternative Data-Driven Country Map
  • Making Academy Scope
  • CONDOR: Tool Demo with Peter Gloor
  • Amatria Installation at Luddy Hall
  • Macroscope Demo Lightning Round: Smelly Maps, Megaregions of the US, Opportunity Atlas, and Virus Explorer

...

2AM

7AM in London (GMT), 4PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Research Talks

Presentations:

  • Filipi Nascimento da Silva: Interactive visualization of large complex networks based on Helios-web
  • David Kouřil: You've Visualized It but Now What? Navigating and Making Sense of Large 3D Visualizations

...

3AM

8AM in London (GMT), 5PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Maker Interviews

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Andrew Levinson on the United States Water Crisis
  • Mauro Martino and Steven Ross on the Watson News Explorer
  • Interview with Ward Shelley
  • Alice Grishchenko on Nature 150
  • Ingo Günther on Data Science from an Artist's Perspective

...

4AM

9AM in London (GMT), 6PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Research Talks

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Rongqian Ma: How are Visuals Worth a Thousand Words: Visualization as a Point of Departure to Investigate Research Culture in Digital Humanitie
  • Pirita Tolvanen: Data Visualization in Children’s Nonfiction Picture Books

...

5AM

10AM in London (GMT), 7PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Foundations and Inspirations

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Katy Börner at TEDX Bloomington: "Maps and Macroscopes"
  • Visit the Gallery: A Guided Tour of Places & Spaces
  • CNS Introduction Video
  • Andreas Bueckle at TEDX Bloomington: “Living and Learning in the Metaverse”
  • Humanexus 2013 Version

...

6AM

11AM in London (GMT), 8PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Videos: Research Talks

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Jessica Roberts: Toward the Development of Museum Exhibits for Public AI Literacy
  • Melanie Martini & Marcus John: Data Driven Foresight with KATI

7AM

12PM in London (GMT), 9PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XVII. Macroscopes for Placing Data in Space

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presentations:

  • Andrew Levinson on the United States Water Crisis
  • Mauro Martino and Steve Ross on the Watson News Explorer
  • Alice Grishchenko on Nature 150
  • Nikita Rokotyan on An Alternative Data-Driven Country Map
  • Ingo Gunther on Data Science from an Artist's Perspective

Links:

8AM

1PM in London (GMT), 10PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

XVIII. Macroscopes for a New Perspective

Moderator: Todd Theriault (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Jan Willem Tulp (TULP Interactive)
  • Esteban Moro (Universidad Carlos III de Madrid)

Watch Presentation
...

9AM

2PM in London (GMT), 11PM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Debut: XIX Macroscopes as Digital Atlases

Moderators: Todd Theriault, Lisel Record, and Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • Raúl Sánchez González (elDiario.es)
  • Hanna Shumway (MIT)
  • André Skupin (San Diego State University)

Watch Presentation
...

10AM

3PM in London (GMT), 12AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Data Storytelling

Moderator: Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Presenters:

  • David Chavalarias (Complex Systems Institute of Paris Ile-de-France)

Watch Presentation
...

11AM

4PM in London (GMT), 1AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

Panel: Visions for the (AI) Future

Moderator: Dan Qaurooni (Indiana University)

Panelists:

  • Soumya Ghose (GE Health Care)
  • Yong Yeol Ahn (Indiana University)
  • Naoki Abe (IBM)
  • Hiroaki Kitano (Sony AI)
  • Katy Börner (Indiana University)

Watch Presentation
...

12PM

5PM in London (GMT), 2AM in Tokyo (GMT+9)

End of Event

Thanks for going with us on this journey!

Watch Presentation

We would like to thank

Funding for this event was kindly provided by Murray A. Goldstone and the Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science Center & SICE IT team at Indiana University.

Previous 24-Hour Events